The Suits of Batman v. Superman

I recently saw the much anticipated “Batman v. Superman” film, and I only have good things to say about it. However, I will save my full movie review for another time. One of the main things that did catch my eye, other than the awesome story, were the suits the characters wore on screen, and I am not talking about their superhero costumes.

Every time Ben Affleck graced the screen as Bruce Wayne, he was impeccably tailored in some beautiful ensemble of men’s clothing. Similarly, Henry Cavill’s Clark Kent was always the quintessential,  “intrepid reporter,” when he was on screen, which is something I noticed back in “Man of Steel.”

batman-vs-superman-image-bruce-wayne-clark-kent-empire-cover

 

After doing some research, I found out that the costume designer, Michael Wilkinson, had a hard time dressing the two main stars in civilian clothes thanks to their body’s constantly changing, according to a Fashionista.com article.

Their weight fluctuations made buying off the rack extremely difficult, according to the article.

The obvious solution was custom tailoring. For Affleck, Gucci custom-designed his entire character’s billionaire, playboy look, and for Cavill, the in-house costume design team created his mobile reporter outfits, according to the article.

If Gucci was custom-designing my entire wardrobe, I am not sure if I would cry or laugh of pure joy. Nevertheless, you better believe I would be wearing a suit to class every day like my man Anthony Williams does, which if you have not read about, you should read my first blog post, “Dress for Success.”

If you would like to read more about the costume design for the movie, check out the link for the full fashionista.com article at

http://fashionista.com/2016/03/batman-v-superman-costumes

 

Leave a Reply

